Can you Bottle Happiness?

Butter London's Slapper

After I hit up this year’s Vintage Virginia Wine and Food Festival, I decided it was time to hunt for my latest nail polish obsession: Butter London’s (don’t you just love that name?) Slapper. It’s a gorgeous, rich turquoise color that is perfect for summer.

And just like back in March when I decided I had to have Essie’s Mint Candy Apple–a perfect spring shade–I drove to two different stores to get it. My first stop was the Sephora in Fair Oaks Mall. A cashier told me that Butter London is something only Sephora’s online store carries. She was nice enough to tell me that Ulta in Fair Lakes stocks it. So after getting my free truffle-of-the-month courtesy of my Godiva Rewards Club membership, I headed off to Ulta.

This Ulta is in same shopping area as the Best Buy and is a free-standing shop. The friend that I was with spotted the Butter London stand first. When I first opened the bottle, I thought the color looked a little darker than the pictures I saw. And for $15 a pop, it was little pricy for it not to be what I wanted. But I knew that if I didn’t purchase it now, I’d just think about it constantly until I got it. So I shelled out the cash, had a great conversation with the clerk about the company’s high-quality products and painted my finger nails last night.

And it was worth every penny. It goes on thick, dries quickly and the color is just perfect. It’s a dark, bright turquoise that honestly reminds of lululemon’s (another one of my favorite brands) surge. I know I’ve found my perfect color for summer, and I’ve had a small smile on my face since I put it on. So, can you really bottle happiness? I’d say yes. Sure, it’s a temporary jolt of happiness, but for $15, I can afford it. 

Leave a Reply

