The Wear on My Yoga Mat

The back of my yoga mat, right where my toes rest, is looking a little rough. Some of the material has started to “chip” and there are tiny indents in the mat. And I couldn’t be happier about it.

I once took a yoga class where the instructor’s mat was worn down to the threads around the feet area because of how much she used it. And I’m proud to say that mine is getting there. No, I don’t want it to look as pristine as the day it was when I carried it out of the store. I’m content with it looking used because it means I’ve committed to the practice and have returned to the mat time and time again. Plus, it’s mean to be used, right?

So thank you mat, for all you’ve given me–including showing a few of your scars.

Leave a Reply

