The Getty Villa

I got to drive on the Pacific Coast Highway (PCH to locals/those in-the-know) to get to the Getty Villa. Just like the Getty Center, tickets were free (!). And it was very pretty. Although it wasn’t as pretty as the Getty Center (it’s hard to top), it’s still worth a visit.

It’s set up like a European villa complete with an amphitheater, outdoor courtyard, two fountains and a ton of museum pieces. The outdoor exhibits reminded me of buildings I’ve visited in Italy and Spain. The museum’s indoor exhibits included glass pieces and Pompeii. Of what I remember, I really liked seeing various glass pieces–including a ton of glass perfume vials. I loved seeing an Andy Warhol of Pompeii’s mountain exploding.

It was smaller and easier to navigate than the Getty Center. I’d recommend it if you have an extra hour or two in Malibu.

Leave a Reply

