Somewhere in Hollywood

So, I finally did it. I made it into Hollywood. And it was … different from what I expected.

I started my day off at the Dolby Theatre (formerly the Kodak), and the place where the Oscars are held every year. The theater itself was massive. It seats about 3,400 and is probably the biggest theater I’ve ever been inside. Our tour guide also showed us a “VIP” lounge room where celebs hang out with this neat tinted glass where one of the four panels becomes obscured depending on where you’re looking at it. The big staircase that all the celebs walk up during the ceremony is actually surrounded by a shopping mall. It’s an interesting one and very telling about Hollywood in general. You’ll find a Louis Vuitton shop right near a cafe where the most expensive item on the menu is $10.

And my last sentence was my biggest takeaway from my outing today. Hollywood is wealth juxtaposed by poverty. You’ll drive past a legendary hotel that is just blocks away from the cheapest store ever. I took an double-decker bus tour today and the guide told us about this steak place that George Clooney frequents…and it was near a Petco?!

In general, I felt like Hollywood was just like the medium it produces the most. It might not look all that pretty on the outside, but once you dress it up a bit, it exudes glamor. All in all, it was neat to see The Walk of Fame (although all the stars look exactly the same), Grauman’s Chinese Theatre and the Hollywood sign.

 

Leave a Reply

